City Council


The Council is the legislative authority and governing body of the City of Cadillac. The Council exercises all power conferred upon or possessed by the City by adoption of laws, ordinances, and resolutions, except as limited by the City Charter or state law (City Charter, Section 3.1).


Time: First and third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m.
Location: City of Cadillac Council Chambers at 200 N. Lake Street

City Council meetings are televised on CCTV; Channel 189.

Agendas and Minutes

View City Council Agendas or View City Council Minutes
Sign up to receive notification when agendas are available.


The Council is composed of five members, one of whom is Mayor. All members have equal authority. Terms of office are four years for Council Members and two years for the Mayor.

Carla Filkins

Carla Filkins

Robert J. Engels

Robert J. Engels
Council Member

Stephen King

Stephen King
Council Member

Tiyi Schippers

Tiyi Schippers
Council Member

Shari Spoelman

Shari Spoelman
Mayor Pro-Tem

MembersWardTerm Expires
Carla J. FilkinsN/ADecember 31, 2019
Robert J. EngelsWard ThreeDecember 31, 2019
Stephen KingWard FourDecember 31, 2021
Tiyi SchippersWard TwoDecember 31, 2021
Shari SpoelmanWard OneDecember 31, 2019

View a map of the City of Cadillac's Wards (PDF)

Education is encouraged for the part-time council members so that they will be at the cutting edge of information and issues involving municipal government. At various times throughout the year, members of the Cadillac City Council travel to seminars and training sessions to enhance their education and ability to fulfill the roles required by the office they have been elected to fill.

Salaries are set by an independent advisory committee that meets every two years.

Current salary information: 

  • Mayor: $4,300 per year
  • Council member: $3,000 per year